KQED Pressroom
pressroom home WXXI channels Events & Outreach listings & schedule corporate corporate rules & regulations

WXXI Overview

WXXI logos
Downloadable versions

WXXI Press List
sign up to receive the latest WXXI news & information
Media Usage Policy
photo & document rights, uses, permissions
Kristin Tutino
Creative Services Department


Press Releases

Sunday, November 14 at 9 p.m. –Tina Fey: The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize

(Rochester, NY) A lineup of top entertainers including Fred Armisen, Steve Carell, Jimmy Fallon, Jon Hamm, Jennifer Hudson, Jane Krakowski, Steve Martin, Seth Meyers, Lorne Michaels, and Betty White will salute Tina Fey in the Concert Hall at the Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize For American Humor on Tuesday November 9, 2010 at 8 p.m. The evening will pay tribute to the humor and accomplishments of the popular writer, producer, actress and comedienne. The event will be taped, and Tina Fey: The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize will air Sunday, November 14 at 9 p.m. on WXXI-TV/HD (DT21.1/cable 1011 and 11).

Tina Fey is executive producer, head writer and star of NBC's three-time (2007, 2008, 2009) Emmy Award-winning comedy series 30 Rock, a workplace comedy where the workplace exists behind the scenes of a live variety show. Her performance as Liz Lemon has earned Fey an Emmy, two Golden Globes, three SAG Awards and a People's Choice Award. This past year, 30 Rock was nominated for a record 22 Emmy Awards, the most ever of any comedy series on television.

Prior to creating 30 Rock, Fey completed nine seasons as head writer, cast member and co-anchor of the Weekend Update segment on NBC's Saturday Night Live. Fey is an Emmy winner and two-time Writers Guild Award winner for her writing on Saturday Night Live and won an Emmy this year for Guest Appearance by an Actress in a Comedy Series for her portrayal of Sarah Palin on the 2008-2009 season of SNL.

Since her transition to being in front of the camera, she has won much acclaim, including being named The Associated Press Entertainer of the Year in 2008, one of Entertainment Weekly's Entertainers of the Year on numerous occasions, one of People Magazine's "Most Beautiful People" (four times), and one of Time magazine's "Prestigious Time 100" (two times). 30 Rock has earned her three Emmy Awards for Outstanding Comedy Series, a Golden Globe for Outstanding Comedy Series, a SAG Award for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series, two Writers Guild Awards for Outstanding Comedy Series and two Producers Guild Awards. She has also won two Gracie Awards and a Made in New York Award.

Fey expanded to feature films in spring 2004 as both a screenwriter and an actress in the hit comedy Mean Girls, which earned her a nomination for a Writers Guild Award for Best Adapted Screenplay. On the big screen, Fey starred alongside Saturday Night Live's Amy Poehler in the film Baby Mama for Universal Pictures, which has exceeded the $50 million dollar mark at the U.S. box office. Fey also has a cameo appearance in the Ricky Gervais comedy The Invention of Lying and was a featured voice in the Disney animated film Ponyo, released this summer. Fey next stars in the 20th Century Fox film, Date Night opposite Steve Carell, and in 2011, Fey will be a featured voice in the Dreamworks animated film Ooobermind. Fey is also in the process of writing her first book for publisher Little, Brown and Company.
Along with the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the creators and executive producers of The Mark Twain Prize are Bob Kaminsky, Peter Kaminsky, Mark Krantz and Cappy McGarr. WETA Washington, D.C. executive producers for Tina Fey: The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize are Dalton Delan and David S. Thompson.

The Kennedy Center’s Mark Twain Prize focuses on those who create humor from their uniquely American experiences.  The proceeds from the evening’s event are used to support the Kennedy Center’s programs, performances and outreach.   As recipient of the 2010 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, Ms. Fey  will receive a copy of an 1884 bronze portrait bust of Mark Twain* sculpted by Karl Gerhardt (1853-1940). The bust and images of it are courtesy of the Mark Twain House and Museum, Hartford, Connecticut.
As a social commentator, satirist and creator of characters, Samuel Clemens—the distinguished 19th century novelist and essayist also known as Mark Twain—was a fearless observer of society who startled many while delighting and informing many more with his uncompromising perspective of social injustice and personal folly.  He revealed the great truth of humor when he said, “against the assault of laughter nothing can stand.”

The Kennedy Center Celebration of American Humor was instituted as an annual event in October 1998.  Recipients of the Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize have been Richard Pryor (1998), Jonathan Winters (1999), Carl Reiner (2000), Whoopi Goldberg (2001), Bob Newhart (2002), Lily Tomlin (2003), Lorne Michaels (2004), Steve Martin (2005) Neil Simon (2006) Billy Crystal (2007) George Carlin (2008), and Bill Cosby (2009).

Pictured: Tina Fey is awarded the Mark Twain Prize
Credit: Courtesy of Platon


WXXI is the essential, life-long educational media resource for the Greater Rochester area. WXXI puts the community first with programming that stimulates and expands thought, inspires the spirit, opens cultural horizons and promotes understanding of diverse community issues. Log on to wxxi.org for more information about our services and programs.